Skype for iPhone on 3G – Review


Hello people,

Skype now has a new 2.0 version out for the iPhone. And the main feature is the long waited calls over the 3G. Which everyone expected to be there in the first place, just because it just made so much sense. I believe that Skype developers wanted to get a better quality level out of this feature, that is why they took so long with it.

I have tested the app on the UK’s O2 network using an 8GB iPhone 3G in various conditions. First I made a call just from my house, leaving the Wi-Fi connection off. The network was on EDGE. I was using the phone without the headset, and the quality was pretty good, the latency was acceptable, but not as good as on a proper connection. Though I expected a lot less from EDGE than I received to be honest. I’ve tried calling two different people, and they said the quality from my side was pretty good, no toilet room sound, and it was pretty clear, just some latency got in the way, but it was ok to speak.

Today I have decided to test it after I finished work, and was on my way to the bus stop in Preston town centre. I had 3G connectivity there and I have decided to give it another go and called my friend. That’s where the whole dancing around the chair has started.

I made these screenshots later in the day, totally forgot to make them during the call.

IMG_0063.PNG
IMG_0064.PNG

Now the main issue was that the connection was dropping. Well I thought it was. And then what appeared just weird, is that if you lock your iPhone, after about a minute the call goes on hold. I have received a text message and the call went on hold and then automatically went back to normal. I was using the iPhone headset, and during the time the call was on hold, I had very loud noises into the left ear, which were just horrible, they can be harmful!

Overall, I think the quality is acceptable, but there’s a lot of improvements to be introduced. Obviously from the App side first. Everybody will always blame the network for all the trouble, but I’m nearly sure that there’s a lot to improve within the app itself. It also is impossibly slow during the call on my iPhone 3G. I know it may be outdated hardware, but hey, there’s quite a lot of people who use it and it still is on the market (if there’s any left though, as it seems they are already going before WWDC).

About acritic
Passionate about technology and music. I like to review and criticise work of other people, while staying gentle and intelligent.

Leave a Reply

