iPhone App – Sleep Cycle Review


iPhone Location

Hello everyone. I have decided to write a review of an app that I found phenomenally useful. It’s from Lexwarelabs and it is called Sleep Cycle. As the developers web-site says,

“The Sleep Cycle alarm clock is a bio-alarm clock that analyzes your sleep patterns and wakes you when you are in the lightest sleep phase. Waking up in the lightest sleep phase feels like waking without an alarm clock – it is a natural way to wake up where you feel rested and relaxed.”

I have bought the app four days ago, just because I thought it was an interesting idea. It was only £0.59 in the UK app store so it’s not a huge amount for something that seems fun and can also help you. So in the first day I’ve set up the alarm for 9am and it woke me up at 9am. I thought that it didn’t really change anything. But the thing was that during the first two nights it is calibrating. So it is adjusting to the way you move in the bed and the position of your phone. On the second night it woke me up at the same time. Next morning three minutes earlier and I didn’t feel any difference at all. I started thinking it’s rubbish already. I liked the graph though, because it shows the stage of your sleep, and I am posting a screenshot of this nights graph, which after I decided to write a review. And I only decided to post it because today it woke me up 17 minutes earlier… and yes! I didn’t feel that I was waking up, it worked like a champ! I didn’t even sleep that long but I feel absolutely great (at the time I am writing the article at least).
Sleep Cycles

So as the web site says, and a few people told me that as well, this technology is not new at all, you can buy the so-called “Bio-Alarm Clocks” which do exactly the same thing, apparently, but cost respectively.

The app has quite a few great alarm sounds actually, they are very pleasant to wake up to. I have finally replaced my tune which I have used for at least 6 months now.

So what else can I say? The app is great and is absolutely worth spending the small price on it. And it really works!

About acritic
Passionate about technology and music. I like to review and criticise work of other people, while staying gentle and intelligent.

Leave a Reply

